Here at Texas Defensive Driving Online, we understand that getting a ticket can be stressful, but we don’t believe that dismissing a ticket should be. The following is a list of questions and answers that we hope will reduce your anxiety as you move through the ticket dismissal process.
Is there a difference between “defensive driving” and a “driver safety course”?
To be perfectly honest, not a darn thing. Defensive driving, driver safety, and traffic school are all terms used interchangeably to describe a course designed to improve perceptions, attitudes and skills with regard to the driving environment. Depending on where you got your ticket, the court may refer to the course they require as any of these. The important thing is that you choose a course that has been approved by the Texas Education Agency, like this one.
Why do people take defensive driving?
There are several reasons (and benefits!) that people take defensive driving. While most people take the course for ticket dismissal, it is also can be taken for insurance discounts or to fulfill certain job or educational requirements. No matter the reason, the things taught in a defensive driving course will make you a safer, more aware driver.
How often can a driver dismiss a ticket with defensive driving?
As a rule, Texas drivers are allowed to use defensive driving to dismiss one ticket every 12 months. However, it is permissible to take the course at any time with a judge’s permission, so it never hurts to ask.
Can I dismiss a ticket and get an insurance discount?
After successfully completing the course, we will be sending two certificates. One is for the court and the other for your insurance man. If your insurance carrier is among the hundreds that offer “good driver” discounts, this second certificate can put money in your pocket.
Why does the court want my driving record?
Generally speaking, the court will request a copy of your driving record to determine if you are eligible for ticket dismissal. As was stated above, the rule in Texas is that drivers can dismiss a ticket only once in a 12 month period. If you know you have a prior dismissed ticket, be honest with the judge when you request defensive driving.
Just like your credit report, it is a good idea to check your driving record from time to time. Any errors could wind up costing you more for your auto insurance so make sure that it is accurate.
Which is better for defensive driving: online or in a classroom?
Isn’t that kind of like asking Jerry Jones whether we should root for the Cowboys or some other team?
If you’re lucky enough to find one with a good teacher, the classroom version of defensive driving is just fine. But, even with a good teacher, you still have to find a (hopefully) nearby location and surrender a 6 hour chunk of your life to get your course completed. On the other hand, on online course allows you the opportunity to take your course whenever and wherever is convenient to you.
Is the course really 6 hours long?
While we would love to say otherwise, the answer is yes. Since it is the state making the rules, we have to play along. A couple of nice things to note: One, of the 6 hours the state requires, one of them is required to be in the form of breaks. Two, when you choose to take your course online, those 6 hours don’t have to be completed all at one time. With Texas Defensive Driving Online, you can log in and out of the course as often as you wish. The choice is yours.
Is there a final exam I will have to pass if the end of the course?
While some online courses wait until the end of the course to throw you a big final exam, we believe in making it easier. Instead of one big final exam, we break the test into short, multiple-choice quizzes at the end of each unit. That way, all the information you are asked about is still fresh on your brain. If you don’t quite make it on your first try, we will give you as many chances if you need to make the grade you want.
If my court date is coming up soon, can I print my own certificate?
Yes you can! We offer electronic certificates that are printable from home after completing your defensive driving course along with other options if electronic isn’t best for you.
What if I need help while I am taking the course?
Even if the best time for you to work on your course is after Thanksgiving dinner, we’re with you all the way. Our defensive driving specialists are here every day that is on the calendar. We are always here for you!
What if I sign up and then feel a little “buyer’s remorse”?
Our $25.00 course fee not only comes with a low price guarantee but with a money back guarantee as well. You may request a full refund at any time prior to completion of the course.